All Nighters

by Jason Green

We’ve all been there. It’s midnight but you only have a few more levels to go before the final boss. You keep telling yourself “just a few more minutes” and next thing you know, it’s morning.

That’s one of the reasons I love playing video games.

You can lose yourself in the universe of whatever game you’re playing and totally lose track of time; all without a care in the world.

To be perfectly honest, I’ve never pulled an actual all nighter, as I do need my beauty sleep, but I’ve come close.

In 2010 the crime drama known as Heavy Rain was released and that was a game I instantly fell in love with. It was developed by Quantic Dream, the same developer who made one of my favorite games, Indigo Prophecy (also known as Fahrenheit in other countries), so I knew Heavy Rain was going to be amazing.

Not surprisingly I was correct.

A few days after I bought the game I was coming down to the wire with the story.

I was playing the part where you’re the character Madison Page and she finds out who the Origami Killer is but you, the player, doesn’t.

I desperately wanted to know who the killer was so I ended up staying up until 4am. I had no regrets doing so because once I found out who the killer was I was floored.

It was one of the biggest surprises in video game history.

Well that’s my story, now I want to know yours!

Played a game an entire night? Slept through work because of it? Share!

@JayGreen89

Leave a Reply

