Video Games And Me

By Jason Green

In lieu of thinking of a topic to discuss, I thought I’d turn the tables to myself and talk about how much of a passion I have for gaming.

To begin, I got my first console in 1997, which was the famous Nintendo 64. I remember my grandma giving it to me for my birthday.

I couldn’t have been happier. Ripping open that box to see the big N on it is a cherished memory.

The first game I got for it, which was packaged with the console, was Star Fox 64.

I remember plugging the console into my TV, popping in Star Fox, and being blown away.

The very first level of the game had me in awe, with its bright colors, fast movement, and booming sound effects.

From that moment on, I was hooked.

The Nintendo 64 was the pioneer to my love for video gaming.

In 2001 I got my second console, the Playstation 2 and the first games I got for that was James Bond: Agent Under Fire and WWF Smackdown: Just Bring It.

It was a little tough for me to get a PS2 only because I was such a huge Nintendo fan for years, but I decided on the PS2 because it was already out for a year at that point and had more games.

In retrospect, I made the right decision.

As the years went on, my love for video games solidified.

These weren’t just games to me, they were separate experiences that would suck me in and not let me go.

After I graduated high school, I did two years at a community college. While I was there, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with my life.

I always toyed with the thought of wanting to do something in the gaming industry, but never thought I could make it. I was never a big fan of writing, and did poorly in game design class.

I felt like I hit a brick wall.

Than, one day, I discovered a funny little video game podcast called Podcast Beyond hosted by Greg Miller, Colin Moriarty, and Ryan Clements of IGN.com.

After listening for a few weeks and really enjoying it, I said to myself “yeah, this is what I want to do.”

Listening to that podcast showed me how much fun these guys have, and how amazing it would be to get paid to talk about, write about, and play video games.

As I mentioned before, I was never the biggest fan of writing, but from that point on I was determined to make myself like it.

Currently, I am enrolled at Rowan University and majoring in Public Relations. I chose PR because it will help my writing skills tremendously and has a lot of “breathing room” when it comes to jobs.

My goal being to either work in video game PR or to be a journalist for a website like IGN.

For now, I bring this blog to you, my fellow gamers, with the hopes and dreams of one day writing for a big company such as IGN, or Gamespot, and anything similar.

To close off this little piece; video games will always be a part of me. They’re there for me when I’m bored, there for me to blog about, and there for my future career.

Oh, and last year at the NYC Comic Con, I met Greg Miller and Colin Moriarty.

Colin Moriarty and I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Greg Miller and I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

@JayGreen89

 

One thought on “Video Games And Me

Leave a Reply

